WHO I AM

This is who I am:

I am Tash - formally: Natascha Tenner. I am a Barcelona-based German native, raised with three cultures who speaks five languages. I am a Linguist - in other words: my enjoyment comes from creating means for people to meet, to overcome obstacles in fields of language and culture by teaching, translation & interpretation. I am in Barcelona to learn Catalan. Before that I lived, studied and worked in ten cities around the world, and I strive to be one of the most innovative linguists.

This is who I am not:

I am not the personification of these five dictionaries: the Oxford English Dictionary, Duden (German), Diccionario de la lengua española RAE (Spanish), Le Petit Robert (French) and the Ozhegov (Russian). I am a human being with limitations, hence I simply cannot know every single word in each language. Therefore, the above mentioned dictionaries are my best friends when it comes to supporting my goals in work.

But this is what I can do:

I teach: Thanks to the expertise gained as a language teacher and being a language learner myself, I perfectly understand the needs of language students. I bond with my students so that we discover the language together. I translate: I analyse texts and transfer the message while keeping the appropriate style and jargon. I interpret: I listen actively to the speech in order to convey your message, while maintaining the intonation of the original voice.

PicWebsiteTash-cropped-245x300

 

In a nutshell, I support people by exchanging knowledge and experience 

from one language into another.

 WORK & EDUCATION

Germany - Jena | 23 years

M.A. Russian & Spanish Linguistics, Pedagogy. Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena. 2003 - 2010 | Indo-European studies, English Linguistics & grammar courses. FSU. 2007 | Secondary School. Ernst-Haeckel-Gymnasium. General qualification for university entrance: Abitur. Major subjects: Mathematics, English. 1997 - 2003

Armenia - Yerevan | 2 months

Language assistant (Russian). Steiner School Yerevan | Armenian language studies, religion & culture studies. 2004

Cuba - Havana | 14 months

Spanish Linguistics, Cuban Literature. University of Havana. 2005 - 2006 | Intern. Secundaria Rubén Martínez Villena. 2006 | Travels to Chile, Argentina, Mexico. Exposed to variations of Latin American Spanish. 2006

Russia - Moscow | 10 months

Russian Linguistics & Literature, grammar, Comparative Linguistics. Lomonosov-University. 2007 - 2008 | Intern. German School Moscow Friedrich Joseph Haass. 2008

Costa Rica - San José | 3 months

Translation assistant & subtitling, planning seminars about children's rights. NGO Fundación Paniamor San José. | Intern. Colegio Humboldt San José. 2008

Belarus - Minsk | 2 months

Belarusian A1. Belarusian State University. 2009

spain

Spain - Madrid & Tenerife | 2 months

Language assistant (German & English). Steiner Escuela Libre Micael. Madrid. 2009 | Language assistant (German & English) for Master students in Conference Interpreting. La Laguna University. Santa Cruz de Tenerife. 2014

New Zealand - Wellington | 12 months

Freelance German & Spanish teacher. Adults, level A1 - C1 & expatriate children. Goethe-Institut Wellington. 2010 - 2011

United Kingdom - London | 3 years

Freelance Teacher, Translator, Editor | Cactus Languages. 2011 - 2014 | Biblical Hebrew course. West London Synagogue. 2013 | Community Interpreting Spanish-English course. Adult Learning & Skills Service Hammersmith. 2013 | Conference Interpreting course. Metropolitan University. 2013 - 2014

france

France - Paris | 15 months 

French B1. Alliance française Paris. July/August 2012 & April/May 2013 | German & English teacher. Business Talk France & Berlitz. 2014 - 2015

Barcelona

Since July 2015

Tutor - Translator - Interpreter

Synergies with you?

israel

Israel - Tel Aviv | 3 months 

Religious studies. Jerusalem. March 2013 | Hebrew studies. Tel Aviv. Reception work, Milk & Honey Hostel. August - October 2016

Download CV: info[at]fonetikas.com

 TALENTS - INTERESTS - SCHOLARSHIPS

I am a self taught polyglot. I am driven by analysing and acquiring new concepts, ideas and skills. Without prior knowledge, I taught myself, for example, to create my own website; to read Hebrew and to play the guitar. Additionally, I have a good eye and ear for linguistic phenomena.

Besides studying the deeper layers of Indo-European languages, I love travelling so that I can discover new interesting cities and develop myself in my capabilities. To recharge my batteries, I enjoy dancing the tango.

German Academic Exchange Service. 2013 - 2014
Tandem Foundation. Italian course, Venice. 2014
L’office franco-allemand pour la Jeunesse. French course, Paris. 2013
Leonardo Da Vinci. Internship, London. 2011
FSU Jena Internships Abroad. Costa Rica. 2008